ZOS Walk (BirdWatch Zambia) February

Jonathan and I managed to join the ZOS group for a walk at York Farm just South of Lusaka a couple weeks ago.  It was a beautiful day, not too hot, but crisp and sunny.  We had been to York farm two years earlier with ZOS, so I wasn’t expecting to see anything exciting but just thought it would be nice to go for a walk in the countryside and see what there is to see.  As it turns out we had a great day and there were even a couple “lifers” for me.

IMG_6277

This Juvenile Lesser Kestrel greeted us just as we drove into the farm, along with a Lilac-breasted Roller and a Senegal Coucal.  He really reminded me of our American Kestrels back home the way he was sitting on the wire as that was a common sight for us when we lived in Ohio.

Later on there were several Greater Striped Swallows flying about and then we spotted this European Roller, which was a lifer for me.

IMG_6322

Towards the end of the morning, I was pretty excited to finally get a good sighting of my nemesis, the Diderick Cuckoo.  The one at my house has been taunting me for weeks now, as I can hear him calling but can never even get a glimpse of him past our outer wall.  Unfortunately, we didn’t get a picture of the cuckoo, so we will have to save that for next time. 

Jonathan took all the pictures on this bird-walk.  As the main group slowly made our way back to the vehicles, he was nowhere in sight.  He had taken off on his own to try to get some good shots of the Red Bishops mixed in with the Mexican Daisies.  He came back covered in grass seeds (black-jacks, which our kids call Cling-ons.  This always sounds funny to me, but of course the kids know nothing about Star Trek.)  Obviously it was well worth his trek, as I really like this photo that he got.

IMG_6380

All in all, we had a beautiful morning.

One thought on “ZOS Walk (BirdWatch Zambia) February

Leave a Reply

