Macha Birds

One of the places where MCC focuses their work in Zambia is in Macha in Southern Province.  Although we do not work there, we occasionally have meetings there and enjoy visiting our co-workers there when we can.  Since we don’t have much work to do when we are there, it always feels like a quiet retreat out into the bush, away from the noise, traffic, and pollution in the city.  There are many paths to walk in the bush and plenty of birds to see.  If the truth were to be told, I would rather live in the country than in the city.

So here are a few pics of some of the birds I saw while in Macha last November for meetings.

IMG_2875

African Paradise Flycatcher:  It’s hard to capture their entire tail in the frame.  These are always so beautiful to see.

IMG_2972

Black-cuckoo:  These were everywhere, singing their haunting song.  It took me forever to figure out what they were, because they were always against the bright sky, and I didn’t realize they were actually black.  I thought I was just unable to see any colors due to the contrast.  Finally I realized they really were just plain black.

IMG_2949

Gymnogene:  My first sighting of one of these, so it was a “lifer” for me.  It hung around on this tree for a while, upside-down, trying to get at some insects.  It was fun to watch.

IMG_9788

Brown-crowned Tchagra.  A cheerful bird that likes to be a bit shy.  I love the name of this bird. 

Leave a Reply

