Birds I wish I had seen

Jonathan spent a week in Botswana, in Moremi, and the Okavango Delta.  I wasn’t invited on the trip, though perhaps I could have gone if I had insisted.  Maybe I should have.  While it wasn’t a birding trip, still they saw lots of birds, some of which I wish I had been privileged to see as well.  So here are some of the birds that I wish I had seen.  All of these would have been a lifer for me, if I had gone. 

Slaty Egret

Slaty Egret.  This bird is considered vulnerable and uncommon.  So far it has eluded me, though I still hope to see it here in Zambia before I go.

IMG_1110

The Red-crested Korhaan has a very distinct chevron pattern on its back.  In Zambia, it is only found in the far south.  Don’t know if I will even come close to getting a look at it.

IMG_1110

 

IMG_1257

Red-billed Sour-Fowl.  Here you can see why they are called Spur-Fowl.

IMG_1257

They have this sharp spur on each of their lower legs. It is used by the males for fighting according to Beat about the Bush: Birds by Trevor Carnaby. 

Burchell's Starling?

Burchell’s Starling.  The starlings here in Africa are often much more striking and beautiful than the ones we have in the States and since they are indigenous, rather than foreign and invasive, they are that much easier to enjoy.

Chestnut-vented tit-babbler

This non-descript little gray bird could easily have a birder stumped as to its i.d.  Jonathan showed me this picture and I had no idea what bird it might be.  Fortunately he got a picture of the bird at another angle and now we are able to identify it as a Chestnut-vented Tit-Babbler.  I like the two photos together, because if you didn’t know better, you would think they were of two completely different birds.

Chestnut-vented Tit-Babbler

So, lots of fun birds that I missed out on.  Hopefully I will get to take a couple trips of my own in the near future and I will be able to stop birding vicariously through Jonathan.

Leave a Reply

