Celebrating Independence

Bird of the Week: African Fish Eagle

In Honor of Zambian’s Independence Day on October 24th I decided to make my Bird of the Week the African Fish Eagle.

IMG_6768

African Fish Eagles are common on just about any body of water in Zambia.  They remind me of our own national emblem, the Bald Eagle, and I have enjoyed this coincidence of similarity with my fellow Zambians, that our national birds are so similar.

IMG_6772

IMG_3343

Another beautiful bird. Happy 49 years Zambia!

For other great bird blogs, visit I’d Rather B Birdin’ for great posts and lots of links.

3 thoughts on “Celebrating Independence

  1. Oh my gosh, this eagle is absolutely stunning!!! I’m so happy you decided to join and link up at the Bird D’Pot. There will be another linking coming up on Saturday [12 NOON, Texas USA time]. Hope to see you return with another bid of the week.

Leave a Reply

