More Beautiful Costa Rican Birds

After staying near Quepos and visiting Manuel Antonio National Park, we made our last road trip up to Monte Verde.  I had never been there before so I was looking forward to it.  The mountainous drive was beautiful and not too steep, with many enjoyable views.  Upon arrival, we had to make our plan for the next day and we decided to go to a private reserve known for its birding guides, called Curi Cancha.  This turned out to be a good plan.  The trails there were well kept and it was great to have a guide for our first hike.  We had been walking for a little while, and had already seen the Emerald Toucanet, (below)

fixed toucanet

IMG_2898

when I asked our guide if there was any chance we would see a motmot, another bird I was eager to see.  I think we walked down a little slope about 50 feet; it seemed like I had hardly gotten the words out of my mouth when he basically turned around and showed me one straight away.  I was thrilled!  And we were able to get several more looks at these beautiful birds.  This one was posing for us just outside our room at Cala Lodge.

IMG_2958

A couple other of my favorite birds in Monte Verde were this Red-legged Honeycreeper and Slate-throated Redstart, that we saw while lunching at Stella’s Bakery.

IMG_2558

IMG_2589

And of course the Hoffman’s Woodpecker that we saw at Cala Lodge.

IMG_2806

Monteverde was a really great place for beautiful birds and hiking through the cloud forest.  It was one of my favorite parts of our trip, possibly because I hadn’t been there before; the birds were gorgeous, and there were many lifers for me.  I would definitely recommend it as a stop for anyone visiting Costa Rica.

 

For more bird blogs, try Wild Bird Wednesday  and  The Birdin’ D’Pot.

4 thoughts on “More Beautiful Costa Rican Birds

Leave a Reply

