Back to the Blog: Fall Birds

Well, I have been a bit absent from the blog for a while.  The pace of life in the U.S. is a bit faster than in Africa, even for homebodies like me.  There is lots more stuff for me to occupy myself with that is not blogging so it kind of gets pushed to the bottom of the list.  I’ve started but not posted several posts as they never seem to get finished.  But today is different.  Today I  am actually going to post, or by the time anyone might be reading this, I will have already posted. 

Most of the time, I am not driving around looking for birds, but I enjoy them in the yard on most days.  Our feeders have gotten busier during the fall, and since I have been able to keep bird seed them, now that the raccoons seem to have disappeared.  So here are some of the best bird photos Jonathan got this fall, with the changing leaves in the background.

IMG_7773

IMG_7611

IMG_7535

IMG_7724

IMG_7844

 

I had several lifers this fall, in the yard.  First was a Golden-Crowned Kinglet, hanging out with the bird-feeder birds.  He was very beautiful, but unfortunately I did not have the camera handy.  That was a week ago, I believe.  The very next day, I got another lifer.  I came down to the kitchen to make some coffee and saw a large bird fly down to the ground back in the woods. I thought it was probably our resident hawk, but I kept my eye out and watched when it flew up to perch to see what it was.  I saw it fly up and land but it seemed to disappear.  After quite a few minutes of searching, I tried a different window, and then I thought I could just make out it’s tail, way at the back of the woods, almost to the field.  I had to kneel down to see the entire bird from where I was.  It wasn’t a hawk, but an owl!  A Barred Owl.  We hear them quite often but it was the first time I had seen one!  An exciting day.  Again, I was bummed that we did not manage to get any photos!

My final lifer this fall was discovered today.  About a month ago we had seen hawk in the front yard and Jonathan had gotten some photos.  I was surprised when I finally checked them out today to discover it was a Red-Shouldered Hawk.  All along I had been seeing him as a juvenile Red-tailed, but when he finally got his adult feathers, I discovered the truth.  I am assuming this is the same hawk that we have been seeing over the last year.  Jonathan thought so too.

Lifer #648

IMG_7347

 

Linking up with Wild Bird Wednesday  and  the Bird D’Pot.  Enjoy.

6 thoughts on “Back to the Blog: Fall Birds

    • Hi Gregg, I believe it is a Yellow-rumped Warbler. They don’t really come to the feeders but they hang out near them because of the other birds ie. safety in numbers. He is definitely in his fall, drab plumage, would look a little different in the spring.

  1. Absolutely stunning birds!! What a glorious array of different ones at your feeders. Autumn is a great time for having migrants in yards, feeding and filling up before their trek farther south! Great photos.

    And, thanks for sharing this link this week at I’d Rather B Birdin’!!!

  2. Great photos….wish I could get a few pics of my little birds on something other than the feeder…but, I’m happy to be able to get them at all !! I will soon have some bare Hawthorn branches above it…maybe then…. or not..they are pretty quick some days…

  3. Lovely shots of these little birds however since I don’t live in the US it would be good to have the names of them below the photos. I am back from Malawi and S.A. Now and have been looking at your birds from Zambia and am surprised that I was able to recognize quite a number. Are you back in Ohio for good? From your posts I think you must have moved back around April 2014. Is this right?

Leave a Reply

