More Ohio Water Birds: Early Spring 2015

After a brief stop at Sandy Ridge Nature Preserve in Elyria – See my last post –  We continued on to our destination which were the parks near Lake Erie, mainly Magee and Metzger parks.  At Magee we checked out all the ponds as we drove in where there were quite a lot of ducks and other water birds, including this sweet little Pied-billed Grebe which was another lifer for me.

IMG_9205

We then stopped off in the parking lot, looked out at the lake and then walked the relatively long boardwalk.  It was a lovely day for a walk.  There were quite a few birds about, mostly Red-winged Blackbirds, Grackles and a few other common ones.  The only lifer for me were the adorable Winter Wrens which were quite busy.

IMG_9219

After the boardwalk we drove through Metzger Park and then in the morning we retraced our steps.  Some of the beautiful birds we found were:  Blue-winged Teal,

IMG_9294

 

Sandhill Cranes,

IMG_9287

 

and Trumpeter Swans.  I actually think that there were three species of swans at Metzger Park.  I believe these are Trumpeter and I can confirm Mute Swans from my photos.  I think there were also Tundra but can’t confirm it.

IMG_9349

The next day we found this lovely Scaup.  Maybe someone can tell me if it is Lesser or Greater, but I must say that I have no idea.

IMG_9332

We also got some wonderful looks at several Northern Pintails.

IMG_9369

 

While watching the Pintails at Magee we got a very brief view of a this Northern Harrier hunting in the field behind the pond.  My last lifer of the trip, with ten altogether.

IMG_9379

And finally, I will leave you with a photo of these two Northern Shovellers, which we saw plenty of on this trip.  I love their huge bills, and also wanted to mark on the blog the day that I found four of them near my house.  I was driving to work, around the middle of March, and found the little flock in a flooded field on Route 604.  Definitely an unusual sighting for me that day.  I do think it is pretty exciting to see the birds when I know for sure that they are on migration as those four undoubtedly were.

IMG_9391

Leave a Reply

